Black Cloud Stormchasers Network

Discussion
  • Old Remington 870, Steel Shot OK?

I have a Remington 870 Wing Master and I hunt ducks with it. It only holds 2 3/4in. shot and I'm not sure if the barrell is made for steel. Do you think it is ok to shoot steel for ducks or do you think I need to buy a newer gun?

• Profile Image
    • By Birddog
    • Beginner
    • 5 years ago
    • 1 Post
      • Birddog's stats:
      • Beginner
      • 350points
Recent Replies
  • Re: Old Remington 870, Steel Shot OK?

Bismuth or hevi shot may be a better option! but with the price of those shells you could just buy a new 870 or nova for under 350. Plus it gives you an excuse to buy a new guy!!!!!

• Profile Image
    • By Cowboygunsmith45
    • Intermediate
    • 5 years ago
    • 3 Posts
      • Cowboygunsmith45's stats:
      • Intermediate
      • 885points
  • Old Remington 870, Steel Shot OK?

I used that set-up for several years. I never noticed any damage to the barrel. But, I like gunsmith's answer. Get a new gun. If your budget allows go to atleast a 3". You will be amazed at the added range. Especially if you go to 3-1/2". Plus I had to clean that Remington every time I used it. My new Browning BPS 3-1/2" requires much less care.

• Profile Image
    • By Sooner13
    • Beginner
    • 5 years ago
    • 1 Post
      • Sooner13's stats:
      • Beginner
      • 385points

those guys are both right. I also have an old wingmaster from the 60s that I have shot steel through but I decided it was just a better idea to get a new gun. Now I use an 870 express super mag that holds the 3 1/2 inchers and I love it. It only cost me $300 brand new at Gander mountain but I think regular retail is 400 something

Edited by Red_Devil, 5 years ago

we have guided hunters full time for over 30 years before retiring in 2005 and we never shot anything larger than a 2 3/4" shell, a duck at 20 to 30 yards wings cupped is going to come down if you are on it.